top of page

The execution of Jane Boleyn, February 1542.

On the 13th February 1542, Catherine Howard and Jane Boleyn were executed on Tower Green. On the 9th February, Jane Boleyn had been taken to the Tower. Catherine Howard followed a day later. There was no formal reception, but Jane would have been treated with the same courtesy and consideration.

On the 12th February, Jane was brought the news that her execution was fixed for early the following morning. The news was brought to her in the Tower of London by either the Lieutenant, Sir Edmund Walsingham or the Constable, Sir John Gage.

On the day of the execution, contrary to popular myth:

- Catherine Howard did not declare "dying as the wife of Thomas Culpepper". Instead she acknowledged her faults, stated her belief in Christ and asked everyone to pray for the Queen.

- Jane did not go mad on the scaffold. She approached the scaffold "with calm dignity".

- In "The Tudors" TV series, Jane was executed before Catherine. However, in real life, Catherine, being the Queen, took precedence. Then, it was Jane.

- Jane did not make references to Anne and George Boleyn in her final speech. Her final speech according to eyewitness Ottwell Johnson was as follows:

"I have committed many sins against God from my youth upwards and have offended the King's royal majesty very dangerously, so my punishment is just and deserved. I am justly condemmed by the laws of this realm and by Parliament. All of you who watch me die should learn from my example and change your own lives. You must gladly obey the King in all things, for he is a just and godly prince. I pray for his preservation and beseech you all to do the same. I now entrust my soul to God and pray for his mercy" (Julia Fox, 2007)

Image - Jane Boleyn played by Joanne King in "The Tudors".

Tag Cloud
Follow Me
  • Facebook B&W
Read My Book
Recommended Reading
bottom of page