top of page

Historical Movie Review - "Henry VIII and his Six Wives" (1972)

There were two films that first got me interested in the Tudor period when I was about six years old – this film, Henry VIII and his Six Wives, and Anne of the Thousand Days. I remember watching them and thinking what an interesting, dysfunctional family the Tudors were! This film is over four decades old, but still remains in my opinion one of the best dramas on the period created.

The right actresses were picked to portray the six wives – they are all exactly as I would have imagined them in the History books (well, except for Anne of Cleves, which is definitely an exaggerated stereotype in this film!). Mary Tudor and Thomas Cranmer bear an uncanny resemblance to the real thing. Even Brian Blessed is quite convincing as Charles Brandon. The late Keith Michell as Henry VIII is the best portrayal of the King to date. From what I do know about this King, I thought that this portrayal was very close to the real thing.

I thought that the film was very historically accurate. It gave a good overview of the important events and if Tudor History was still taught on the school curriculum, it could even be shown in History lessons. A must-see for all enthusiasts of the Tudor period. Five stars!

Image – Famous card game scene between Katherine of Aragon (Frances Cuka), Henry VIII (Keith Michell) and Anne Boleyn (Charlotte Rampling).

Tag Cloud
Follow Me
  • Facebook B&W
Read My Book
Recommended Reading
bottom of page