top of page

Indie vs Traditional

I saw an interesting discussion brewing on another website recently, comparing “Indie” authors (who self-publish their books) to the “Traditional” authors (those who publish via a publisher). The discussion was a reaction to a group deciding for various reasons not to review Indie works anymore and to only review books by Traditional authors. There was quite a mixed-reaction from both sides of the fence.

I don’t mean to criticise the group over the decision they have made. The decision may have been the result of various, administrative reasons. However, as an “Indie” author myself, I couldn’t help but feel very let down by this decision. Most of all, I do think it’s bizarre that any distinction has been made at all between the two types of authors.

In reality, there is absolutely no difference at all between Indie and Traditional authors. None whatsoever.

I’ll tell you why there are no differences. This is because:

  1. Both types of authors work bloody hard to achieve the final product. In a lot of cases, both types often have to write and still hold a day job at the same time.

  2. Both types go through exactly the same processes involved in creating a book. How this is approached may vary slightly – for the Traditional author, a team is involved, but for an Indie, often, THEY are the team!

  3. Both types are capable of both good AND bad work.

The third point is the most important. Often the assumption that is made of Indie authors is that their work maybe slightly mediocre, unpolished and a bit rough around the edges. Yes, this can be true, but in my opinion, the same is also very possible for Traditional authors.

I have read many books from both Indie and Traditional authors and guess what? The two worst books I have read were both from Traditional authors (who will remain nameless). One of them in particular was actually made into a film (and no, it wasn’t Fifty Shades of Grey!). The sad thing is, I actually liked the film - it was a million times better than the book. Watching the film influenced me into buying the book because I automatically assumed like anyone else, if the film was fantastic, the book must be awesome. However, sadly this bucked the trend - big time. I don’t know how, but I somehow managed to read the book to the very last page and it was by far, the most boring book I have ever read. I had to check if this was actually the same story, that I hadn’t misread the title, or had made a mistake thinking this was the same book that the film was based on. How I managed to get to the very last page, I honestly don’t know. It was a choice between reading a book on the train, or just looking bored and staring at the floor. How on earth did this author manage to not only get a publishing deal, but inspire the making of a movie?!

Even with the book I am currently reading – and the author again will remain anonymous – I have only just reached page 12 and already I am wondering if I should continue to read on. Again, this is another book by a Traditional author.

This is not a criticism of Traditional authors. As I have said before, they work just as bloody hard as Indie authors and many have produced fantastic results. The important point I am trying to make here is that being a Traditional author doesn’t automatically mean the work is going to be fantastic in all cases. There are some really fantastic Indie authors out there, some just even writing for fun when they have a spare minute. I think it’s very unfair to overlook this group just because they have not published the “Traditional” way.

Has anyone ever stopped to think why they have had to self-publish in the first place? For years, I submitted manuscripts to different publishers and all I got back was rejection letters. One rejection letter after the other. It is so, so difficult to have your work accepted. One day, I came home after another long day at the office to find yet another rejection letter waiting for me. That was when I decided that I was so sick of seeing these and I decided to self-publish. I did the right thing and “The Lady Rochford Saga” has been a success, selling many copies worldwide.

Like many other things, the way we publish work has evolved – there is more than one way of publishing. Before, we had just hardbacks, paperbacks and newspapers. Now we still have these three, but in addition, we also have ebooks, websites, and blogs. Everyone that uses social media is a self-publisher – if you use Facebook and Twitter, you are publishing every single day. You are the Editor of your own website. An Editor! When I was growing up, the only type of Editor that I had heard of were those that edited magazines and tabloid newspapers. The process of publishing has changed significantly and people need to accept and adapt to these changes.

The process of creating a book is difficult for both types of authors. It is very important that we reject this “us” vs “them” mentality. Both groups deserve an equal chance and we should be supporting ALL authors equally.

Oh and by the way, here is the link to my series of books! :D

Tag Cloud
Follow Me
  • Facebook B&W
Read My Book
Recommended Reading
bottom of page